Building Act 2011 / NCC / BCA

The Building Act 2011 commenced on 2 April 2012, introducing a new building approval process for Western Australia and bringing significant changes to the building approvals process, from the design stage right through to occupation of a building.

The Building Act 2011 and the Building Regulations 2012 replace the Building Regulations 1989 and much of the Local Government (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 1960, and amends a range of associated acts.

The commencement of the Building Act introduced a new Building Services Levy , private design certification services provided by registered building surveying contractors and consent requirements for work affecting other land.

Building Act 2011

Legislative Framework for building

National Construction Code Series

The Building Code of Australia (BCA) comprises Volumes 1 and 2 of the National Construction Code (NCC). Every person who engages in building works should have access to a copy of the BCA. The NCC is now available on-line for free, by following this link:

Rate this page - Was the information useful to you?
Rate this page - Was the information useful to you?
Reason for your rating *

Please enter the code below *