Pressure on For Ray Owen Upgrade

Published on 17 April 2019

The City of Kalamunda is calling on the Federal Government to assist with the implementation of the Ray Owen Masterplan.

Mayor John Giardina said, “The site was originally developed in the early 1970s, with much of the infrastructure now in need of a major upgrade to meet the needs of its users. The reserve and its associated facilities have been at capacity for many years and the demand continues to grow rapidly.”

“Ray Owen is extensively used by a number of well-established clubs including AFL, cricket, BMX, basketball and netball, with a large portion of them being junior or female members, with more than 12 thousand visitors to the facility every week.”

“The reserve and associated facilities are currently at full capacity with clubs being limited in how they operate and are unable to expand. The basketball and netball associations are in high demand with teams having to train and play at other venues within the City.”

“The City of Kalamunda identified the need and benefits of upgrading this regional level reserve in 2015 through the endorsed Ray Owen Reserve Master Plan, which acknowledged there is a shortage of active open space in the hills region and the facilities at Ray Owen Reserve are facing growing demand.”

“The total project cost is $18 million dollars and we are seeking a $9 million contribution from the Federal Government.”

According to the Growth Areas Perth and Peel, of which the City of Kalamunda is a member, all of Perth’s residents should have access to quality local sports facilities. Seventy five per cent of Perth’s population growth is occurring in the outer metropolitan communities, and yet the outer metro communities of Perth have a significant shortage of public open space, particularly for local sports facilities. Families living in these communities often face long commutes to and from major sporting precincts.

GAAP councils are advocating for the development of a special purpose fund to build 10-12 sporting precincts within eleven local government areas in Perth.

Back To Listing